ALS ice bucket challenge

My Facebook page is filled with video clips where people pour ice water onto themselves?

The first thing that came to my mind was: “Oh, prank thing going on?”

I scrolled down and Bill Gates, Taylor Swift, Justin Timberlake and Oprah Winfrey etc were all doing that.

I thought hang on a second, what is this? So I googled about it and found out this was a spontaneous viral on the Internet.

I told my friends and they were like: “Yeah.” I’m like :” AM I the only ONE who is shock of this?”

It is stupid initially but it is kinda interesting to see the famous people doing them and their reaction as well.

The ALS is a progressive neurodegenerative disease that affects nerve cells in the brain and the spinal cord. Motor neurons reach from the brain to the spinal cord and from the spinal cord to the muscles throughout the body. The progressive degeneration of the motor neurons in ALS eventually leads to their death. 

From reading this scientific information, I was thinking why ice water is sort of related to the disease but I guess it is a really effective marketing technique, seeing everyone is interested and looking forward to more celebrities or even the President of USA to do the same.

I do believe that such association is legit ice water and neurodegenerative disease. Why? Well the moment you pour the ice water, you got brain freeze so I guess it sort of affects the nerve cell in the brain for a spur moment. I don’t really know the science but that is my thought.

It is amazing how a challenge can become a globalized culture where people do not take concern of race, religion and politics, but focus on helping to raise funds (I suppose it is a fun thing to do as well)

I did not do any research behind who started first but it doesn’t matter. It is such a contradictory when in class, we were discussing how Internet has blurred space and time. In reality, it really does but in a way that is quite positive rather than how Sherry Turkle said: “Connected, but Alone.” Well, it is not as pessimistic but I get your point. 

I would really like to try out such challenge and make my contribution. However, I don’t think I will be much influence to the funds and popularity. Well, people out there! why not try it with your friends?

Leave a Reply

