The Cost of Game Addiction

I can still recall vividly the times my younger brother is playing his video games. He was totally inseparable with the television while playing his PS3. To me, game is like a virtual world that sucks him into living it. I do not like playing games. I have always been giving excuses because I wasn’t someone who is able to easily pass level by level. Thus, I have been avoiding myself from games. Even though, I became a person that has bad coordination but I have escape from game addiction. I have realised the potential of addicted towards games. Since the inventory of quality graphical games and the booming of game industry, it is undeniable that game is part of the popular culture. From computer games, PS games, wii to smart phone gaming apps, addiction on them becomes a common entity. I do not wish to have a society that focuses so much on gaming, rather knowledges that are helpful towards country development and aid in solving social problems. The cost of game addiction is not easily defined yet it is visible to us that this mere entertainment does cause some problems among gamers in terms of their lack of focus in work, deteriorating of concentration in studies and neglecting social interaction. I am not suggesting the removal of game industry nor banning game arcades which do not simply put an end to the causation of those problems. People who likes playing game simply ignore the advices of people around them, thinking that they have not been playing for that long which eventually turns out that they have wasted more than half a day. What more useful things they can do for half a day besides that? Eat and sleep? I thought to myself that if people are grown to be addictive into something, often it is not a good thing. Something too much is always not good. When someone claimed that they are addicted to games, Facebook, television show or a type of food, it does distinguish the favourites and despises but it categorises and split different types of people into groups. Therefore, our world often produce a variety of ideas and opinions which also initiated the invention of games and the unavoidable addiction problems.

2 thoughts on “The Cost of Game Addiction

  1. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic
    nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading
    links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

