Feed your senses

Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write. (For a bigger challenge, pick the one you’re least drawn to.) http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/daily-prompt-senses/

The first thing I wake up today, I see my pink teddy bear. It was sitting beside me smiling…Its pink brings out the white colour of the bed, curtains and wall, the contrast of pink and white coordinate well. It was the first gift that I received from someone special yet he was a stranger to me back then. I have always wish to have a big teddy bear and now that I had it, I will just put it where I can just see it first thing in the morning.

The first thing I wake up today, I heard my grandparents’ conversation while they are watching the early TV show…Sound of people’s conversation makes a house more lively. It means that the house is full of people and energy. According to Chinese, a house is best to have some noises rather than entirely quiet. I am glad not to be living alone. The feeling of just hearing your own voice in a vast area is  eerie.

The first thing I wake up today, I smell the fresh linen fragrance diffuser in the room. Rather, I always wish to smell food the first thing I wake up, a good traditional Malaysian breakfast, Roti Canai and curry or just a toast is good enough. Sometimes, flowers are good too. Certain flowers have strong scent and some are sweet and pure. However, having a flu in cold mornings are common too when I can’t smell anything at all.

The first thing I wake up today, I touch the warm blanket which becomes a protective layer from the freezing weather. That sense of touch prohibits me from stepping out of the bed. Soft and comfortable is enough to make up sleep in all day.

The sensation that I experienced on waking up today was a slight laziness as it was a Saturday. However, I am emotionally trilled of my schedule as I will be meeting friends, watching a movie, eating something good and reacting to the approaching cold weather by starting to wear my winter clothing. I feel like some Zumba as well because Friday’s Zumba was not that satisfying. The sensation of moving and following the beat of the music comes into me, which urges me to wake up today.

 

Senses are important to engage with world, nature, living things and non-living things. People who are born with senses are fortunate to see, to hear, to smell, to sense and finally to live. Often, these tiny little things that we see, hear, smell or taste are big things that help us understand the place we are living and make us feel the sense of belonging.

7 thoughts on “Feed your senses

  1. Pingback: The Best Sensation Of The Day | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Feed Your Senses – Kids, Coffee & Pancakes | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Early Morning Smells and Sounds | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Fortyoneteen – “Sensual Senses” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses | On My Front Porch

Leave a Reply

